Week 5 – Artist – Marina Abramovic

marina

Marina Abramovic is a performance artist who likes to explore different things like the “relationships between the performer and the audiences, the limits of the body and possibilities of the mind.” In a lot of her work she likes to use herself (her body) and likes to challenge herself by using knives and blades. Her work is definitely modern and I am pretty sure that her work was revolutionary in the art world.

When I first started doing research on Marina, I did not realize that I have actually watched one of her performances! The performance was from the 2010 MoMa Retrospective “The Artist is Present”. The video is of her sitting across from different people from her audience, one by one. They would sit across from each other and stare at each other for about a minute in silence. The best part of the video is when she is looking down and her ex Ulay that she has not seen in over 30 years sits across from her. When she looks up, you can see the surprise in her face. As she sits across from him and they stare at each other, she starts crying. I’m pretty sure that, that moment brought out so much emotion, I can’t even imagine. After watching the video, it made me think about how I would react and how I would feel if I walked into someone I used to love 30 years from now.

“Because we never stop loving silently those we once loved out loud.” – Marina Abramovic

 

 

Leave a Reply

