Week 6 – Artist – Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol Chanel.jpg

“They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.” -Andy Warhol
He was born Andrew Warhola, however, after he graduated college and moved to New York to pursue a career as a commercial artist, he dropped the “a” from his last name and became Andy Warhol. Andy Warhol is largely known for his pop art of images of Marilyn Monroe and soup cans. After doing some background research on him and pop art, I found that “Pop art marked an important new stage in the breakdown between high and low art forms.” Andy Warhol using pop art played an important role in bringing the use of pop art into popular culture. He was shot in 1968, by Valerie Solanas (an aspiring writer and radical feminist who was upset at Warhol because he refused to use a script she wrote), which almost ended his thriving career.

When I first saw that Andy Warhol was our Artist of the week, I knew I have heard his name somewhere and after looking up some of his artwork I realized that I learned about him last year in my Sociology of Popular Culture class. I never knew how big of an artist he was after doing research on him and never knew that I have seen his artwork all around. I once used his picture of the Chanel perfume bottle as a phone background and didn’t even realized it was him that created it. It’s crazy to think how famous pieces of artwork can be seen almost everywhere, but we don’t even realize it. 

Leave a Reply

