Week 8 – Artist – Guy Tang

guy tang

Of the two artists we had, I decided to focus this week’s blog on Guy Tang. I LOOOOVE Guy! I was so excited when I found out that he was one of this week’s artists. I have been following him for some time now on Instagram. I just love what he does with hair. What he does with people’s hair really is a work of art. It’s so crazy and so cool how hair color and hair design can be considered art because I never thought of it like that.

What stood out to me the most with how Guy does hair is that he is able to put dimension on something that could be so dull (hair). The way he adds dimension to the hair he is coloring and styling at times make the hair look fake or cartoon like, but in a good way! He has made some great transformations and has fixed a lot of hair “Uh-Ohs”. The outcome of the hair he does definitely shows how much time and creativity he puts into the work he does for his clients. I once watched a video of Guy doing Michelle Phan’s hair and in the video they explained how long his process was (I believe it was between 5 to 7 hours to do her hair).
guy tang - michelle phan

I was first introduced to Guy’s work on Instagram when I was looking for different hair colors ideas that I wanted since I am the type of person that gets my hair done whenever I feel like I need some change or needs something new (which is often). I talked to one of my friends about him and found out that he is friends with one of Guys friends and that he was able to make an appointment with him (I found out that my friend was on a three month waiting list.) I just recently found out that he isn’t taking anymore appointments at the moment because his waiting list is so long! That goes to show just how well known and how good he is at what he does!

 

Leave a Reply

